How do I delete photos from my phone but not Google Photos?

Author: Elza Rice MD  |  Last update: Saturday, November 20, 2021

Delete photos using this way:
  1. Open Google Photos.
  2. Tap 'Library' in bottom right corner.
  3. Tap 'Utilities' on top right corner.
  4. Tap 'Free up space'
  5. Delete as much photos as you want. They will be kept on Photos as a backup but will be deleted from your phone.

How do I delete photos from my phone but keep them on Google Photos?

On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app . Select one or more photos that are on the device. At the top right, tap on the "3 dots" menu icon. Select Delete Device Copy.

How do I delete photos from my phone only?

Manually Select All Images to Remove from the Device
  1. Open Google Photos.
  2. Select an image from the library that's also on the device.
  3. Tap the 'more' icon on the top right (three vertical dots).
  4. Select 'Delete from device. '

Do photos stay on Google Photos if deleted from phone?

Free up device storage:

Tap on Free up space from the side menu, and tap the Delete button to remove those photos from your device. The deleted photos will still be backed up in Google Photos.

How do I unlink Google Photos from my gallery?

Remove Account from Google Photos
  1. Open the Google Photos app on your Android/ iOS device.
  2. Tap on the profile picture icon given on the top right corner. ...
  3. Now, tap on your current account profile with the drop-down arrow and select “Use without an account.”

Solution to the Issue: "When I delete photos on my iPhone, they also delete from Google Photos."

Does deleting photos Delete from Google Photos?

By contrast, for images backed to Google Photos after being captured on your phone, if you simply Delete from within your Google Photos App, by tapping Trash , e.g., the images will be deleted from the cloud as well and will no longer be available in Google Photos (unless restored from the Trash within 60 days of ...

How do I delete photos from my phone but not Google Photos 2021?

This works for Android users.
  1. Find and tap on the Settings application on your Android device.
  2. Go to Apps, then select Google Photos.
  3. Find the setting called Permissions. Under this setting, toggle the button to turn off the storage option.
  4. Follow Method 1 or 2 to delete the photos already on Google Photos.

How do I free up space on my Android without deleting everything?

To clear cached data from a single or specific program, just go to Settings> Applications>Application Manager and tap on the app, of which the cached data you want to remove. In the information menu, tap on Storage and then “Clear Cache” to remove the relative cached files.

Do I need both Gallery and Google Photos?

This ensures you won't lose important pictures if you misplace your device or upgrade to a new one. While you can use both Google Photos and your built-in gallery app at the same time, you have to choose one as the default. Android makes it easy to set and change default apps by going into your device's settings.

How do I separate Google Photos from my iPhone?

Figured it out - if you're using an iPhone, go to settings -> google photos -> photos -> allow access “never”. That way it will no longer be connected to your iPhone. Then go to a web browser, type photos.google.com and try to delete any picture from there.

How do I delete photos from my phone but not iCloud?

The easiest way to do this is by simply turning your iCloud backup off.
...
How to delete photos off your iPhone without deleting them from iCloud
  1. Open Settings on your iPhone.
  2. Tap on your name (Apple ID).
  3. Tap on "iCloud" (should be the first subtitle below name, security, and payment).

How do I Unsync my Google Photos?

Simply launch the Google Photos app on your phone or tablet. Then, tap on the menu icon in the top-left corner (three horizontal bars) and then tap on the Settings icon (the cog). You should see Back up & sync at the top of the list. Tap on it and then tap the toggle to disable the service.

When you delete photos on iPhone does it delete on iCloud?

When you delete a photo or video from the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and any other devices where you're signed in to iCloud Photos. It also no longer counts towards your iCloud storage.

How do I delete photos from my iPad only?

Just turn off iCloud photo in the iPad's iCloud account settings and then you can delete photos on the iPad without affecting iCloud or the iPhone.

How do I delete photos from my iPhone and keep them?

Photos iOS app
  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. Tap on the album that you want to delete your photos from.
  3. In the upper right-hand corner, tap on Select.
  4. In the upper left-hand corner tap Select All.
  5. Tap the trash icon at the bottom when you are finished selecting all of the photos for deletion. Then, tap Delete.

How can I get Storage without deleting my pictures?

How to clear space on your iPhone without deleting photos
  1. Attempt to rent a movie with a large file size. ...
  2. Delete unused or unnecessary storage-eating apps. ...
  3. Delete old text messages. ...
  4. Stop using My Photo Stream. ...
  5. Don't keep both photos when you enable HDR mode. ...
  6. Clear your browser's cache. ...
  7. Turn off automatic app updates.

What should I delete when my phone Storage is full?

It's a lot easier to delete these files as you go than comb through thousands of pictures later, when your phone gets full. Clear your cache. On an Android phone, when you select particular apps in the “Storage” settings section, you'll often get the option of clearing the cache, or deleting all data.

Where do my photos go when I free up space?

Whenever you use the Free Up Space option in Google Photos, all photos and videos that are already safely backed up to the cloud will be removed from local storage. In other words, Google Photos will delete the originals. ... If you don't see it to the top of the screen, you can always access it via the Google Photos menu.

Does Google Photos delete from device only?

On Android, deleting such photos will remove them only from your phone. So you will not be able to view them either in Google Photos or other gallery apps. On iOS too, the photos will be deleted from your phone only, and you cannot access them in Apple Photos.

Does Google Photos take up room on my phone?

If used correctly, Google Photos should take relatively little storage on your phone. Some data is required for cached images, settings, etc. Using it correctly, means (among other things): Opening the Google Photos periodically, and confirming that you see the "Backup complete" message.

What is the difference between gallery and Google Photos?

Google Photos is accessible everywhere — mobile, desktop and web. It is available on Android, iOS, and has a web version. ... Gallery apps are exclusive to Android devices. While you can download third-party gallery apps on other Android devices, these apps seldom provide a backup option.

How do I stop photos from Google Photos?

Select your account profile (located in the top-right corner). Select Google Photo settings. Select Back up & sync. Toggle the slider off for Back up & sync.

How do I get my pictures off of Google Photos?

If you're prompted to log in, use your Google credentials to do it. Once in Google Photos, find the photo/video that you wish to save and select it. Then, tap the three-dot icon and select Save to device or Download from the menu. This will save the photo/video on your Android/iOS phone or tablet.

Previous article
How common is kava liver damage?
Next article
What is the best feed for wild turkeys?