Is it legal to punt twice?

Author: Melba Stamm III  |  Last update: Saturday, December 11, 2021

While a double punt is legal, Dickson's second kick should have been flagged. NFL punt rules suggest that a second punt cannot be attempted from beyond the line of scrimmage.

Is it illegal to punt twice?

You CAN punt twice if the ball remained (and remains) behind the line of scrimmage after the first one. “The penalty for a punt, drop kick, or placekick from beyond the line is to be enforced from the spot where the ball is punted or kicked when the player's entire body and the ball are beyond the line of scrimmage.”

Why is double punt legal?

“In #LARvsSEA, the punt was blocked and recovered by the kicking team,” NFL Officiating wrote in a Twitter post. “The punter kicks the ball again from behind the line of scrimmage. This is a legal kick and the result of the play was the ball was ruled down at the 11 yard line.”

Was double punt a penalty?

Officials deemed that there was no penalty on the play for punting it twice because as the rulebook states, a second kick behind the line of scrimmage is legal as long as it doesn't cross the line.

Can you kick the football twice?

It's probably not legal, although not explicitly illegal according to the rulebook. The NCAA's football rulebook says “a player shall not kick a loose ball,” and doing so is a 10-yard penalty that carries a loss of down.

Pat McAfee Reacts To Michael Dickson's Double Punt vs Rams; Was It Legal?

Can you punt the ball twice in one play in the NFL?

Mike Pereira initially said this was not legal, and Fox Sports announcers Joe Buck and Troy Aikman thought this would result in a penalty. But as it turns out, it was perfectly fine for the Seahawks' Michael Dickson to punt the ball twice on one play.

Can you punt a ball twice on the same play?

Plenty of people in and around the league didn't know that two punts were permitted on the same play. ... But two punts are permitted, as long as the second punt happens at or behind the line of scrimmage. (As currently written, the rule requires the ball to remain behind the line of scrimmage at all times.)

Was Michael Dickson's punt legal?

MORE: NFL taunting rules, explained

Since Dickson kicked from behind the line of scrimmage, the play was deemed legal. NFL's officiating Twitter account confirmed the play's legality: "In #LARvsSEA, the punt was blocked and recovered by the kicking team.

Can you kick the ball twice in a penalty?

The kicker must not play the ball again until it has touched another player. The penalty kick is completed when the ball stops moving, goes out of play or the referee stops play for any offence. Additional time is allowed for a penalty kick to be taken and completed at the end of each half of the match or extra time.

Can you Rekick a blocked punt?

Based on the relevant language of Rule 9, a second punt after a blocked punt does not violate the rules, as long as both kicks happen behind the line of scrimmage and the ball has not crossed the line of scrimmage. (Pereira later acknowledge that point.)

What is the two touch rule?

Two-touch Rule

A player cannot touch the ball twice in a row when putting the ball in play. You will see this called many times in youth soccer. It applies everywhere. You will see it frequently on kick-offs or direct and indirect kicks.

Can a penalty be passed?

Yes, this is allowed. However, the procedure on pages 45 - 48 of the 2015/16 FIFA Laws of the Game must be adhered to. The main points are: All players other than the first kicker and goalkeeper must remain outside the penalty area and penalty arc and behind the ball until the ball is kicked.

Can a goalkeeper move during a penalty?

Penalty kicks are conceded when a defended player fouls or commits a handball inside the 18 yard box (commonly known as the penalty box). Goalies must keep their feet on the goal line and not move until the ball is kicked. Referees allow them some leeway, particularly in the sideways direction.

What is the longest punt in the NFL?

On September 21, 1969, Jets rookie punter Steve O'Neal booted the longest punt in NFL history--a 98-yard blast against the Broncos.

Can a punter throw the ball?

Usually the punter will simply take the snap and look to throw a pass or run with the ball after the defenders have turned downfield to block for the punt return. In another variation, the ball may be snapped directly to an upback who then runs downfield or throws.

Can a punter catch his own punt and advance the ball?

Simply put, a punt is a scrimmage kick. Therefore, any member of the punt team is allowed to catch or recover a punt as long as it is behind the neutral zone, basically the line of scrimmage, and then advance that ball.

Can you fake a penalty kick?

The player taking the kick must be identified to the referee. ... The referee blows the whistle to indicate that the penalty kick may be taken. The kicker may make feinting (deceptive or distracting) movements during the run-up to the ball, but may not do so once the run-up is completed.

What happens if you kick a free-kick into your own goal?

You can't score an own goal from a free-kick or throw in. You might be aware that you can't throw the ball into the net and score via a throw-in. ... If a player either throws or passes a free-kick into their own net it doesn't count as an own goal. Instead, a corner is awarded to the other team.

Can you stop in a penalty run up?

Yes he is allowed to stop but its not so simple. If the player starts the run up and stops immediately that fine but if he gets very close and stops then kicks the ball this would probably be regarded as fainting the kick rather than the run-up (which is allowed).

Can a player take 2 penalties?

No player will be allowed to take a second kick until all other eligible players on their team have taken a first kick, including the goalkeeper.

Can a keeper score from his hands?

A goalkeeper is able to score from a drop kick, or from a kick out of his hands. The goal will not be disallowed as the goal has not been scored directly from the goalkeeper's hands.

Can a goalkeeper bounce the ball?

According to Law 12 of the International Football Association Board's (IFAB) Laws of the Game, a goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with his or her hands when they are in the act of bouncing it on the ground or throwing it in the air.

Do indirect free kicks still exist?

There are, of course, still indirect free-kicks in the box for backpasses and other technical offences. ... If a defender bicycle kicks the ball away, for example, but his feet are dangerously close to an attacker's head, the referee may award an indirect free kick.”

What are the 17 rules of soccer?

Currently there are 17 specific key items that determine the rules of soccer: Field of play, the Ball, Number of Players, Player's Equipment, Referee, Assistant Referee, Duration of Match, Start and Restart of Play, Ball In and Out of Play, Scoring, Offsides, Fouls and Misconduct, Free Kicks, Penalty Kicks, Throw In, ...

Can you score from a goal kick?

A goal may be scored directly from a goal kick, but only against the opposing team; if the ball directly enters the kicker's goal a corner kick is awarded to the opponents if the ball left the penalty area.

Previous article
What is the lifespan of a SIM card?
Next article
Is Labour pain really unbearable?