Will deleting from iCloud delete from iPhone?

Author: Damien Farrell  |  Last update: Sunday, June 12, 2022

When you delete a photo or video from the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and any other devices where you're signed in to iCloud Photos. It also no longer counts towards your iCloud storage.

Does deleting from iCloud delete from device?

If you want to remove all your photos from both your device and from your iCloud account, you can do it by just deleting them on your phone. It works in reverse too, so whenever you delete a photo from your iCloud it will be deleted from your device.

Can I delete photos from iCloud but keep on iPhone?

If you want to delete photos from iCloud but keep them on your iOS devices, make sure to disable iCloud Photos first. Go to Settings -> Apple ID (your name at the very top) -> iCloud -> Photos -> Toggle off “iCloud Photos”. Now, when you delete photos from iCloud, they will stay on your iPhone.

What happens if you delete photos from iCloud?

Delete Photos When iCloud Is Turned on

If iCloud Photos is enabled, then deleting photos on one will device will remove it from all the other connected devices. It is not possible to remove it from one device only. That is, if you remove it from iPhone, it will be removed from iCloud and connected iPad.

How do I remove files from iCloud but keep them on iPhone?

I keep the ones I use daily or weekly there. Go to System Preferences/iCloud/iCloud Drive/Options and turn off Documents and Desktop syncing. Check your Documents and Desktop to make sure all your files are there. If you have all your files, you can delete them from iCloud.

Understanding iCloud Photos and iPhone Storage [How Synching Works]

Why is iPhone storage full when I have iCloud?

For most Apple users, backups, photos, and messages can take up half of your storage space or more. ... Backups of your devices are often the culprits behind a full iCloud storage space. It's entirely possible you had your old iPhone set to upload backups to the cloud automatically, and then never removed those files.

How do I get stuff off my iCloud Drive?

iCloud.com
  1. From your iPad or computer, sign in to iCloud.com.
  2. Tap the iCloud Drive app.
  3. Select the files that you want to delete, then tap Delete .
  4. Open the iCloud Drive folder and tap Recently Deleted.
  5. Select the folders or files that you want to delete.
  6. Tap Delete.

Does deleting photos from iCloud delete them from all devices?

Any selected images will be deleted from iCloud, but if you've turned off iCloud Photos, the photos on your other devices will remain intact.

Will I lose anything if I delete my iCloud backup?

A: The short answer is no—deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud is completely safe and won't affect any of the data on your actual iPhone. In fact, even deleting the backup of your current iPhone won't have any impact on what's actually on your device.

What happens when you remove an iPhone from your iCloud account?

When you remove your device from iCloud, it gets removed from the device list of Find My iPhone. It also turns off your former iPhone's Activation lock. When your iPhone is lost and you remove it from iCloud, everything will be removed from the device. That means your data is safe and secure.

What is the point of iCloud?

The purpose of iCloud is to store data and important information securely on Apple's remote servers (as opposed to your iPhone or iPad). This way, all your information is backed up to a secure location and synchronized between all of your devices.

How do I free up iCloud storage on my iPhone?

Free up space on your device
  1. If you use iCloud Photos and turn on Optimize Storage, you can lower the amount of storage that your photos use on your device.
  2. You can remove content from your apps like photos, music, and podcasts.
  3. You can delete apps that you're no longer using.

What happens when I remove a device from my Apple ID?

If you set up two-factor authentication for your Apple ID, removing a device will ensure that it can no longer display verification codes. It also won't have access to iCloud and other Apple services, including Find My, until you sign in again with two-factor authentication.

Is deleting a backup bad?

Each backup is independent of the others so yes it's safe. What you need to make sure of is that the backups you delete aren't ones you made for specific purposes. If all they are is regular backups, and everything form your latest backup is working great, I would go for it.

Should I delete old iPhone backups?

The only reason you would want to keep old backups is if you still needed to restore some of the data from them to your device. It will only delete it from iCloud, freeing up space in your account. It won't do anything to the data on the data on your phone.

How do I delete an old iPhone from iCloud?

How to remove a device from iCloud using an iPhone or iPad
  1. Start the Settings app and then tap your account name at the top of the screen.
  2. Scroll down to find the list of devices connected to your account. Tap the one you want to remove. ...
  3. Tap "Remove from Account." You'll need to confirm you want to do this.

What is stored in iCloud?

Apple gives you 5 GB of iCloud storage with the purchase of one of its devices, and that can fill up fast. Most often, your iCloud storage goes towards backing up your photos, files, voice memos, apps, and text messages.

How can I see whats in my iCloud?

You can view what's taking up space in your iCloud Drive using the Files app. Open the Files app on your iPhone. Tap Browse > iCloud Drive.

What should I backup iCloud?

What Does iCloud Backup Include?
  • App data.
  • Apple Watch backups.
  • Device settings.
  • Home screen and app organization.
  • iMessage, text (SMS), and MMS messages.
  • Photos and videos on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
  • Purchase history from Apple services, like music, movies, TV shows, apps, and books.
  • Ringtones.

Is iCloud storage worth upgrading?

The benefit of upgrading your iCloud storage is it will allow you to continue your automatic backups on your iPhone or iPad without having delete content. You also won't have to remember to plug in your device to your Mac or PC to backup either.

Will erasing my old iPhone affect my new one?

Don't worry, reset old iPhone will not affect the new one. It will only erase content on old iPhone where the operation is done. The data that have been transferred to the new iPhone or the files that have been saved to iCloud will not be affected in any way.

How do I unlink two iPhones using same Apple ID?

Begin by deciding which two phones will be changing. On these two phones, go to Settings>iCloud and turn all data that is syncing with iCloud (contacts, calendars, etc.) to Off. When prompted choose to keep the data on the iPhone. After everything is turned off, scroll to the bottom and tap Delete Account.

Will I lose everything if I change my Apple ID?

When you change your Apple ID, you will not lose any data. If you create a new Apple ID, that will cause you to have to start over and lose everything that you purchased with that ID.

Does iCloud drive take up space on iPhone?

iCloud Drive automatically appears on any Apple device running the latest software. ... While it is very useful, it completely eats up your iCloud storage space. Users looking to utilise the feature fully will have to buy iCloud storage space as Apple doesn't give much space for free.

Previous article
Can degenerative disc cause tinnitus?
Next article
Can you buy a knife in Japan?